Celebrating the Bright, Sun-Loving Flowers of Summer

I wonder if we Californians aren’t a bit spoiled by the abundance of flowers, both locally grown and shipped in from distant points, which we enjoy year around.  Things were a bit different when as a kid and avid flower gardener in Minnesota, I looked forward all year for my zinnias, marigolds, asters, cosmos and similar flowers to come into glorious bloom for a brief few weeks. Perhaps that memory is what attracted me to this display at San Francisco’s Ferry Building.  These are so obviously the bright, sun-loving flowers of late summer, zinnias, sunflowers, cosmos, Mexican bush marigolds and others I can’t identify–Bay Area grown and intensely colorful. Just seeing them says summer to me, and puts me in a happy mood. I am also reminded that even here in California, summer, and these flowers, will not be with us for long. (Click on these photos to enlarge them, and really get a proper look.)

Leave a Reply

